Cruisin Tikis Big Kahuna Shell Island Cruise
The Cruisin Tikis Big Kahuna Shell Island cruise is a 3-hour trip on a tiki boat that carries up to 31 guests from Treasure Island Marina in Panama City Beach. The listing prices it at $69.95 per person and includes snorkel gear, bottled water and a cooler with ice. It is the only Shell Island landing trip in the comparison that runs on a tiki boat, and it has a standing restroom on board. There are trade-offs: the listing is new with only 10 reviews, and the description gives no minutes at the island. This page lays out what the price covers, how the trip runs and who should book something else from the Shell Island dolphin tours comparison.
About This Tour
Cruisin' Tikis Panama City Beach runs the Big Kahuna, a tiki boat with a thatched shade roof, bar stools, charging ports, a sound system and a full standing restroom. The cruise lasts 3 hours and is sold by the seat or as a whole-boat booking. Snorkel equipment, bottled water and an ice chest come with the ticket.
The title promises a Shell Island beach and snorkel stop, but the listing never states how long you get at the island. The operator's own page says the captain picks Shell Island, Sandy Point or a sandbar depending on current, wind and traffic, so the stop can change. Bring your own food, drinks and towels, and plan to tip the crew.
$69.95 per person, sold by the seat or as a whole-boat reservation. Cancellation 24 hours before departure for a full refund.
3 hours. Departure and return times are not stated on the listing.
Treasure Island Marina, Panama City Beach. The listing gives no street address. The operator's own site prints 3605 Navy Blvd (formerly Thomas Drive) and asks guests to arrive 15 minutes before departure.
Yes, a landing is listed. No minutes on the island are stated anywhere, and the captain may choose Sandy Point or a sandbar instead.
The Big Kahuna tiki boat, up to 31 guests. A shared seat or the whole boat can be reserved.
Free cancellation up to 24 hours before departure for a full refund.
Check Dates and Availability
Seats and whole-boat dates for the Big Kahuna are sold on Viator. The trip needs at least 7 seats booked to run, so off-season dates can be rescheduled.
You'll confirm the exact date and time on the secure booking page.
Quick answer Big Kahuna tiki cruise at a glance
The Cruisin Tikis Big Kahuna Shell Island cruise costs $69.95 per person, runs 3 hours and carries up to 31 guests from Treasure Island Marina. Snorkel gear, bottled water and a cooler with ice are included and there is a restroom on board. The listing is new with 10 reviews and does not state how long you stop at Shell Island, and the operator says the captain may choose Sandy Point or a sandbar instead.
Key takeaways
- The boat is the selling point: a restroom, shade, bar stools and a sound system for a 31-guest group. See what the price covers.
- Families should read the age rules first. The operator limits Friday and Saturday afternoon cruises to 18 and older, which the Viator listing does not say.
- Want a stated hour at the island? The pick is the Shell Island Snorkel and Dolphin Catamaran Cruise, which states about 1 hour at the stop.
What the Price Covers
The figures here come from the Viator listing for product 389215P6 and the operator's own cruise page, and the two do not agree on everything.
Included on Board
The $69.95 ticket includes the use of snorkeling equipment, bottled water, an ice chest with ice for chilling drinks and access to the full standing restroom. The boat also has charging ports, cup holders, a shady bar area, swivel bar stools and a premium sound system. Adults 21 and up may drink alcohol on board with an ID, but alcohol itself is not included, so bring your own.
Service animals are allowed.
| Line | In the price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Snorkel equipment | Yes | Use of snorkeling equipment is included |
| Bottled water and ice chest | Yes | A large cooler with ice and bottled water |
| Restroom | Yes | Full-size standing restroom on board |
| Food | No | Bring your own |
| Alcohol | No | BYOB, 21 and up with an ID |
| Towels and sunscreen | No | Bring both, spray sunscreen is banned |
| Gratuity | No | The operator suggests a 20% tip per seat or charter |
| Park admission | No | Not mentioned on the listing |
Where the Two Pages Disagree
The Viator listing allows free cancellation up to 24 hours before departure. The operator's own page states that Friday and Saturday afternoon Big Kahuna cruises are 18 and older, while the listing sells seats to children 1 to 17 with no day rule. Confirm the age rule for your exact date with the operator before you pay.
Source: Cruisin Tikis Big Kahuna cruise page and Cruisin Tikis Panama City Beach.
How the Trip Runs
The listing describes the boat in detail but gives no clock times and no minutes at the island, so several stages below carry no figure. The check-in and minimum-seats details come from the operator's own page.
From the Marina Lot to the Water
Park in the Treasure Island Marina parking lot and walk to the docks between the water and the grassy lawn. The Big Kahuna sits in the middle. The operator asks guests to check in 15 minutes before departure and will not hold the boat for late arrivals.
A waiver must be signed online before the trip.
| Stage | Where | Time |
|---|---|---|
| Check-in | Treasure Island Marina docks | 15 minutes before departure |
| Cruise out | Grand Lagoon | Not stated |
| Dolphin search | Not listed | Not stated |
| Island stop | Shell Island, Sandy Point or a sandbar | Not stated |
| Snorkeling | At the stop | Not stated |
| Return | Same docks | Not stated |
What 3 Hours Really Buys
The captain picks Shell Island, Sandy Point or a sandbar depending on current, wind and traffic, so a beach landing is likely but not certain. Nobody, the operator included, states how many minutes you get at the stop. If a guaranteed hour on the sand matters to you, the Shell Island Snorkel and Dolphin Catamaran Cruise states about 1 hour at Shell Island, or the Small Group Shell Island Dolphin and Snorkel Tour runs the same waters with 6 guests per boat.
Source: Cruisin Tikis Big Kahuna cruise page.
Who This Trip Rules Out
The listing and the operator's own notes rule out several kinds of traveler. Each point below links a better-fitting trip.
Travelers Who Need Certainty and a Track Record
The listing is new with 10 reviews, and it states no minutes at the island. If a long review history matters, the Shell Island Snorkel and Dolphin Catamaran Cruise carries thousands of reviews and states its stop. If you want a small boat with a Shell Island stop, try the Small Group Shell Island Dolphin and Snorkel Tour.
Families with Teens on Weekends
The listing sells seats to children 1 to 17, but the operator says Friday and Saturday afternoon cruises are 18 and older. Confirm your date before booking with kids. If the whole family wants a tiki boat, the Shell Island Sunset Tiki Boat Tour runs a 1.5-hour evening cruise for up to 26 guests with no stated age day rule.
Health and Comfort Limits
The listing is not recommended for travelers with spinal injuries, pregnant travelers or travelers with poor cardiovascular health. There is no hotel pickup and no wheelchair access stated. The boat does have a restroom.
Seasickness guidance is not stated. Infants sit on an adult's lap and pets are not allowed, though service animals are. If you want a private boat instead of 31 shared seats, see the Private Shell Island Dolphin and Snorkeling Tour.
Dock, Dolphins and What to Bring
The practical side of the trip: finding the dock, behaving around wild dolphins and packing for an undeveloped island.
Getting to the Dock
Treasure Island Marina sits on the Grand Lagoon in Panama City Beach. The operator's page gives the address as 3605 Navy Blvd, formerly Thomas Drive. Park in the marina lot and walk to the docks between the water and the grassy lawn.
The boat is in the middle. Arrive 15 minutes before departure. More on the departure points is on the Shell Island dolphin tours homepage.
What Shell Island Lacks
Shell Island is about seven miles of undeveloped scenery between the Gulf of Mexico and St. Andrews Bay. There are no concession stands, restrooms, picnic pavilions, trash cans or running water on the island. Bring your own food, drinks and trash bags and take everything back with you.
Pack sunscreen (no spray on the boat), towels, sunglasses, water shoes and a camera.
The Wild Dolphin Rules
The dolphins around the island are wild bottlenose dolphins. NOAA recommends staying at least 50 yards (150 feet) away, limiting observation to 30 minutes or less and never feeding or harassing them. Feeding or harassment is illegal under the Marine Mammal Protection Act, with penalties that can reach $100,000 in fines and up to 1 year in jail.
NOAA also asks people not to swim with wild dolphins, even if the animals approach you. Sightings are common but vary on every trip, and this cruise does not promise one.
Weather and Season
The boats run in rain. The captain cancels for high winds or thunderstorms and emails notice at least 90 minutes before departure with a rebook or refund option. Summer is the best season for snorkeling, when the water is clear enough to see the bottom on most days, and Gulf water averages 80 to 84F from June through September.
Summer showers are usually short, often passing in 15 to 20 minutes. The Atlantic hurricane season runs June 1 to November 30 and peaks around September 10. Snorkel conditions are covered in the Panama City Beach snorkeling guide and island planning in the Shell Island Florida guide.
Sources: Cruisin Tikis Panama City and BeachGuide weather.
Hour by Hour
The listing states no departure or return times, so the stages carry phase labels instead of clock times.
-
Check-in
Arrive at Treasure Island Marina
Park in the marina lot and walk to the docks between the water and the grassy lawn. Check in 15 minutes before departure and have your waiver signed online beforehand.
-
Cruise out
Out of the Grand Lagoon
The Big Kahuna leaves the docks and heads out of the Grand Lagoon, with shade, bar stools and the sound system running.
-
Dolphin search
Watch for bottlenose dolphins
The listing does not name a dolphin stop. Sightings around the island are common but never guaranteed, and the captain keeps the recommended 50 yards from any animals.
-
Shell Island
Beach stop at the captain's pick
The captain chooses Shell Island, Sandy Point or a sandbar based on current, wind and traffic. No minutes at the stop are stated on the listing.
-
Snorkeling
In the water with provided gear
Use the included snorkeling equipment at the stop. Bring your own towels, and remember there are no restrooms or water on the island itself.
-
Return
Back to the same docks
The boat returns to Treasure Island Marina within the 3-hour trip window.
What Works and What Does Not
An honest read of the listing, the operator's own page and the alternatives in the comparison.
What we genuinely like
- A full standing restroom on board
- Snorkel gear, bottled water and a cooler with ice included at $69.95 per person
- Shade, bar stools, charging ports and a sound system on a tiki boat
- Book a single seat or reserve all 31 seats as a private party
- Free cancellation up to 24 hours before departure per the listing
The honest downsides
- Only 10 reviews, a short track record
- No stated minutes at Shell Island, and the captain may swap the stop for Sandy Point or a sandbar
- The operator says Friday and Saturday afternoon cruises are 18 and older while the listing sells child seats, so confirm your date
- The operator asks guests to check in 15 minutes early and does not hold the boat for late arrivals
- A 20% tip is suggested on top of the ticket, and food, alcohol, towels and sunscreen are not included
Who it's NOT for: Travelers who need a guaranteed Shell Island landing with a stated time on the sand and a long review history should book the catamaran instead.
Big Kahuna Cruise Questions
Is Cruisin Tikis legit?
The operator says its captains are USCG Master Captains, the Big Kahuna is USCG inspected and the company belongs to the Maritime Consortium drug-free vessel program with random captain testing. The Viator listing holds a 4.9 rating from 10 reviews, a short record. Compare it with better-reviewed trips like the Shell Island Snorkel and Dolphin Catamaran Cruise.
Does the Big Kahuna cruise actually go to Shell Island?
The 3-hour Big Kahuna cruise is the one that heads out of the lagoon, and the captain picks Shell Island, Sandy Point or a sandbar depending on current, wind and traffic, so the landing is likely but not certain. Trips that state their island stop are listed in the Shell Island snorkel comparison.
How long do you get at Shell Island?
Not stated. The listing gives no minutes at the island and the operator does not either, so nobody can tell you how long the stop lasts. If an hour on the sand is the plan, the Shell Island Snorkel and Dolphin Catamaran Cruise states about 1 hour at Shell Island.
Can kids come on the Big Kahuna?
The listing sells seats for children 1 to 17 with infants on an adult's lap, but the operator says Friday and Saturday afternoon cruises are 18 and older, so confirm your date before booking. The 1.5-hour Shell Island Sunset Tiki Boat Tour is a tiki alternative in the evening.
What happens if the weather is bad?
The boats run in rain, but the captain cancels for high winds or thunderstorms and emails notice at least 90 minutes before departure with a rebook or refund option. The listing also allows cancellation 24 hours ahead for a full refund. Season and storm planning is in the Shell Island Florida guide.
Is there a bathroom on the boat?
Yes, the Big Kahuna has a full-size standing restroom. Type I life jackets are provided for every passenger and children 6 and under must wear one underway. Boats without restrooms are listed on the dolphin cruises comparison.
How many people does the trip need to run?
The Big Kahuna needs at least 7 seats booked to run, so a quiet date can be rescheduled or refunded. You can also reserve the whole 31-seat boat as a private party. Smaller-group options start with the Small Group Shell Island Dolphin and Snorkel Tour.
Prices, availability and terms are set by the operator and confirmed at checkout.
We may earn a commission if you book through one of our links, at no extra cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure